Acrylic on canvas by CAIO FERN 2011.


Acrylic on canvas by CAIO FERN 2011.

Light, textures volumes … all by colors. I love this . How to talk about Truth creating an illusion? painting.
Painting this morning made me remember a lot when I used to go to Tate Gallery by walking from down town only to see those tiny colorful brush strokes. I think so unfair when people talk about the pre-raphaelites. They say very good things and all true but they only talk about the beauty of the scenes , the narrative characteristic of it .
William Holman Hunt, John Everett Millais and Dante Gabriel Rossetti, William Michael Rossetti, James Collinson, Frederic George Stephens and Thomas Woolner ….
They were all very very good painters with brilliant and beautiful pictorial solutions fir every detail of every work . Nobody says this .
I could never see all that by book. I had sympathy by these painters but never considered then great ones, only very good illustrators. Going to Tate i was convinced to totally change my mind. Their way to deal with the brush captivated my heart. It was love at the first sight, and second sight and after millions of sights later. “How can I live without then in my life”… I used to say knowing that would have to leave London one day.
The painting today brings some lesson I learned with those works even I have used a much thicker paint.
This is one of the things I love about painting , you can bring other cultures from distant times to your everyday life in a very authentic and exclusive way. Will always have a conversation with the best that have survived from the civilization.
An artist doesn’t need to fear or deny the past for creating an unique work. Denying all that you will only participate of a blind dance for ignorant people. Who wants that ?
I am still working the Sao Paulo’s light of noon have painted by photo because don’t want to stand under the sun with a mirror in front of me and having to hurry up before the light changes. I woke up early in the morning and went to studio to paint very calm, fresh and happy.
I have prayed so much for God gives me a good work. I’ve done this for my entire life but lately I’ve done with more intensity. After to finish I only say Thank You Sir and get happy.

www.silentspots.blogspot.com
www.meinwelt-22.blogspot.com
www.caiowelt.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

